Contact Information

59 Eyita-Ojokoro Road, Ikorodu, Lagos

We Are Available 24/ 7. Call Now.

Nollywood shone at the 2018 Africa Movie Academy Awards.

The 14th edition which held in Kigali, Rwanda on Saturday, saw Nollywood films win 14 of the coveted awards and dominating the acting categories.

Among those who picked up the statuettes in different categories were Richard Mofe Damijo, Joke Silva, Godwin Okereke and Dakore Akande.

The biggest single winner of the evening, however, was Michael Mattew’s ‘Five Fingers for Marseilles’ from South Africa. The gang violence thriller picked up five awards including Best Film.

Jade Osiberu’s debut film, ‘Isoken’, picked up the Ayiam Osigwe Foundation Award for Best Nigerian Film.

The romantic comedy also won the prize for Best Costume and a Best Actress win for Dakore Akande.

Here’s the full list of winners for the 2018 edition of the Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) which took place in Kigali, Rwanda.

Best Short Film – Tikitat Soulima (Morocco)

Best Animation – Belly Flop (South Africa)

Best Documentary – Uncertain Future (Burundi)

Best Film in an African Language – Five Fingers For Marseilles (South Africa)

Best Film by an African Living Abroad – Alexandra (Nigeria/USA)

Best Diaspora Short Film – Torments of Love (Guadeloupe)

Best Diaspora Documentary – Barrows: Freedom Fighter (Barbados)

Best Diaspora Narrative Feature – Angelica (Puerto Rico)

Achievement in Production Design – Five Fingers For Marseilles

Achievement in Costume Design – Isoken

Achievement in Visual Effect – Lucky Specials

Achievement in Sound – Hotel Called Memory

Achievement in Cinematography – Five Fingers For Marseilles

Achievement in Editing – Hotel Called Memory

Best Young/Promising Actor – Amine Lansari – The Blessed Vost (Les Bienheureux)

Best Comedy – Banana Island Ghost

Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Gideon Okeke (Cross Roads)

Best Actress in Supporting Role – Joke Silva (Potato Potahto)

Best Actor in a Leading Role – Richard Mofe Damijo (Cross Roads)

Best Actress in a Leading Role – Dakore Egbuson-Akande (Isoken)

Best First Feature Film by a Director – Michael Matthews (Five Fingers For Marseille)

Best Director – Frank Rajah Arase (In My Country)

Best Film – Five Fingers For Marseilles

Congratulations to all winners.


I'm a Strategic Communications Expert with over 9 years industry experience. I own and; a widely published writer and a fluctuating Graphics Designer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *